Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“Does present has a bearing on future”? Of course yes, since the research has shown that present or current zeitgeist culminates in future. For example, economic theory validates that drawing one droplet of water from a well reduces the amount of water availability in future, ceteris paribus. Consequently, the prompt here asserts that Government should concentrate on addressing the current problems rather than focusing on future issues. In my view, I strongly agree with the recommendation and would substantiate that future, though uncertain, is a result of actions taken today, thus resolving current issues would resolve future problems as well. The circumstances that are exemplifying my position are mentioned in the following paragraphs.

First of all, does the alarming situation persist without any actions taken in the past? Of course not, since the work of many scientists in the field of climate change has proved that the problem of global climate change is a result of actions pursued by the human society in the past and must be addressed in the present times otherwise future will not be there to be seen by anybody. For example, the rising of average temperature in the past 3 decades is the consequence of large scale industrialisation without making up for the deforestation. If it is not addressed today immediately or if it postponed to future, possibly it would be unmitigated. Further, the current time in the major economies is witnessing a radical shift in political society which is focussed on polarisation and the political pundits have come to the conclusion that it is critical now that it would disturb the peace of the societies worldwide if not addressed today or if carry forward to the future, possibly no action or suggestion would be efficacious by then. Therefore, problems of large scale such as climate change and violent politics must be addressed immediately.

Secondly, does the economic severity arise ad hoc? The answer is no, since economists have worked on culmination of economic problems and shown that economic disasters are consequences of not addressing them immediately. For example, the current problems of Greece, i.e., large budget deficit is the result of not taking care of it immediately when it was rising beyond the accepted level since Governments were in favour of delaying it to the successive Governments in future and as a result it has grown much bigger to handle by one country alone. Further, the rising trade war between USA and China has predicted that world economies would suffer major slowdown if these two major economic superpowers do not have a will to reconcile their differences now and if it extends to the coming years, whole world would face unemployment, falling industrial output and wages. Therefore, the problem of economic relations between countries and budget management of a country must be addressed immediately since it would be irreparable in future.

Finally, the rising war hostilities between nations, as security experts have proved that, must be placated immediately otherwise the consequences of large scale devastation is certain. For example, the border dispute between India and Pakistan related to Kashmir is a result of not considering it during the time it erupted and today, the situation is such that India and Pakistan are involved in skirmishes across the border and even have fought three wars of large scale resulting in the loss of many civilian lives. Further, the hostilities between USA and North Korea also suggests that both countries are not willing to resolve their Korean War disputes now or immediately but rather escalating it to the future resulting into large scale military expenditure and threats and continuous killings and deaths of people. Therefore, the problems of martial life must be addressed immediately in order to save many lives.

Of course some would argue that putting on all efforts to resolve current problem would be improvident since Government must have some reserves or planning to address the anticipated problems of future. However, the proponents of this idea have forgot to subsume that future is a dependent variable which is explained by the relationship between independent variables of today or in other words whatever happens in the future and problem that is anticipated in future is predicted today on the basis of present problems or conditions, thus it makes a strong case to wilfully address all problem of today immediately.