In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Society runs on contribution”, in other words it states that in every aspect of life, be it happiness or sadness, contribution is what consummates it. We all are human being therefore, contributing towards something, though in varying degree and direction. The prompt asserts that the novice is likely to make bigger important contribution in any field of inquiry than that of an expert. In my opinion I strongly agree with this statement and also validate that a beginner because of being a pristine mind is more likely to exhibit its share than that of a seasoned professional. The following three reasons support my position.

To begin with a novice, especially a child between 5-10 years, being untouched by any of the societal issues or cosmopolitan structure, has a higher tendency to put his mind in arts and fictional things than that of experienced ones. For instance, if a child gives the opportunity to paint a piece of large paper with all sorts of colors including water colors, wax colors and pencil colors etc., it is likely that he would use no fixed pattern and for sure would paint something which an experienced person would have not thought of. Further, if the child of same age is asked to imagine a world with superheroes, it is likely that he would have thought of unpredictable character and situation, such as world consisting of no humans or perhaps the world full of cookies and chocolates etc. Both these examples are likely to assert that a child would have outdone an adult because of being a beginner in the field. It matters because it is unspoiled mind which is urging the child to contribute higher.

Secondly, even in the world of physical science, though an adult made the contribution but it was so because the cognitive psychology was not perturbed by the outside world. For instance, Albert Einstein made significant contribution towards how we understand the world or universe around us, but he had done so not because he was mature or experienced but because his inner mind was untouched by the exterior one. He discovered the theory of relativity, time and space out of his fearless thinking of a novice or a child who wanted to explore the space. Further, the scientist before him, known as Isaac Newton also made contribution towards laws of motion because of novice thinking towards what is happening and why is happening around us. It is not that in laws of nature he had discovered something new, what he did was carefully observed the pattern as a child looking up to a sky for beautiful stars and trying to connect them for beautiful pictures. Both these instance implicate that even an adult but with novice or a childlike attitude is more likely to contribute towards field of inquiry. It matters because it is the fearless attitude a child that led to new discovery.

Thirdly, even in the field such as economics or finance, where it is supposed to get contribution from a seasoned professional, a beginner contributes much larger because of his curiosity. For instance, when John Keynes populated the theory of money supply and money demand, it was not a situation that never been occurred. However, it was his novice thinking emerged out of his curiosity to analyse the date of past few years and tabulate the numbers across different years and generalised his theory. Further, when Black and Scholes formulated a mathematical equation to price the derivative, it occurred not because of never been worked out in this field by any mathematician, but it emerged out of curiosity of these two gentlemen to try their mathematical skills in financial world. Both these cases draw out a point in favour of beginners making wide contribution. It matters because it is the curiosity of a childlike mind that led to new findings.

Of course, however, some would argue that in some field of inquiry an adult is more likely to contribute than that of a beginner such as strategy to win a war. But again, here a beginner may, out of his curiosity or fearless attitude, can take or suggest some bold steps to turn the situation of war in one’s favour and he can generate unprecedented strategy perhaps in the form of attacking the enemy during heavy winters with decoy, leading up to a win. Therefore, in conclusion, the prompt, as it stands now gets validated with above cases and examples and making a viable case for a beginner making a larger contribution in any field of inquiry.