The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer argues that the committee should reduce the funding for enrolments in public schools along with the reduction in budget for athletics playing fields so that sufficient amount of funds are available for activities that are used by adults. It is based on the premises that birth-rate is declining, thus enrolments in public schools would decline, but adult population is expected to rise. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

One such unverified evidence is the cause and effect relationship between decline in birth-rate and consequent decline in enrolments. In other words, the writer has assumed that the reduction in birth-rate of the city will cause a decline in enrolments. However, there may be the case that where enrolments are depend on the students from other city as well, since it may find that public schools in this city are considered as good schools in this city and its near-by cities as well, therefore, parents in other cities are willing to get enrolled their children in public schools of this city. Therefore, enrolments may increase in future. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should evaluate the evidence on children from other cities enrolled in the public schools of this city.

Moreover, the writer has unverified evidence on analogical relationship between enrolments and athletics. In other words, the writer has assumed that only children who are enrolled in public schools are inclined to athletics, thus decline in birth-rate will also cause a decline in athletics. However, there may be the case that athletics and other recreational facilities of this city are renowned in other cities as well and its services are available at cheaper rates, thus parents from other cities are inclined to get their children enrolled in athletics services of this city and it may also find that parents of this city have penchant for their children to get enrolled in athletics since athletics is considered as more important than education in the city. Thus, athletics would be in demand. Therefore, in order to render the argument valid, the writer should evaluate the evidence on interests of parents and children for athletics.

Finally, the writer has arbitrarily ignored the evidence on contribution of education and athletics in overall budget. In other words, the writer has assumed that these two particulars contribute significantly in the overall city budget that the reduction in their amounts would make the funds available for other desired activities. However, there may be the case that contribution of these two particulars are miniscule and other particulars such as funding for the development of roads, hospitals, industries and other public infrastructure is significant to influence the amount of budget. And moreover, it may also find that due to the increased economic growth the budget amount for these particulars cannot be reduced, thus it may affect the amount of funds for other desired particulars. Thus, the writer needs to evaluate the evidence on the amount of different particulars that can influence the total budget amount.

While concluding, after close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unverified evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.