Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The research conducted by Association of Democratic Reforms in 2018 concluded that Government has an obligation to discuss all issues even with contrasting members since they are also elected to the parliament by people. The research further concluded that Government must proceed in positive manner to convince them about issues in order to get their support or change its stance, if their views are found to be correct. While there are no reservations that discussing the issues with those people having contrasting views can provide comprehensive insights covering all sections of the society, there are reasons to believe that discussion with these people often results in waste of time and efforts. These contrasting people are adamant, obdurate or stubborn because they follow certain or specific cult or religion and have vested interests and thus hold eccentric views, which cannot provide any support but obstructions.

First reason that supports the idea of avoiding these contrasting people is the critical time at which value of time, money and efforts go in vain by holding discussions with them which would have utilised to serve the community as a whole. Sometimes decision in a legislature are crucial to bring about political or social reform when the country is at the cusp of violence. In such situations, considering these oppositions for passage of a bill is futile and all efforts to prevent the violence go waste. For instance, when Government of India revoked Article 370 in 2019, certain opposition leaders resorted to violence under the pretence that Government had not considered their views and took the decision impetuously. However, as per the parliamentary report that was released following these actions concluded that the situation in India was such that had Government heeded to these contrasting views, the whole country would have gone under civil war, which was fortunately forestalled by such prudent decision. Therefore, discussions with adamant oppositions prevent desired actions.

Another reason that buttresses the narrative of abstaining from including these opposition is the vested interest of these people that do not provide useful inputs but continuously disrupt the affairs. During the period when members of parliament convene to discuss important legislation that would bring social reform, these fractious people disrupt parliament in order to prevent the passing of bill. They do so under the presumption that the proposed bill would further restrict their chances of winning the upcoming elections since this bill has changes that would benefit the society. A good example of this is Goods and Service Tax 2017 that was promulgated by Government of India. All opposition members were united to prevent this bill from passing since it was viewed as landmark reform for taxation that would bring all taxes under one umbrella. Opposition was scared that this bill would further deteriorate their position among general public and thus adamant to suppress it. Hence, vested interest of these opposition does not provide useful inputs, but obstructs growth and welfare.

However, one argument that contends the inclusion of these contrasting members is their ability to view an issue or problem from many different angles. During a debate in parliament, these contrasting members, though adamant to suppress the functioning of legislature, often provide odd and eccentric views against a specific bill that Government wishes to pass. These views sometimes provide comprehensive views since they were also elected by people, though they were in minority. This can be illustrated by the passing of a "Motor Vehicle Act 2018”, which was introduced by Government of India for amendments. Government asserted that the objective of the amendments was to prevent road accidents and cases of road rage. However, adamant opposition contended that this bill could provide undue authority in the hands of policemen which might lead to coercion of general people. Later, an independent study conducted by the body constituted by the parliament had concluded that the views shared by these contrasting members had merits and thus the bill was revoked. Thus, sometimes these opposing views are necessary, though they are adamant, to subsume holistic view.

As can be seen from above paragraphs that although discussion with these contrasting people may lead to comprehensive understanding of an issues, discussions with them also lead to disruption in the functioning of Government and thus prevent welfare measures and often it also leads to the wastage of money and time spent on these discussions. Therefore, discussions with these members must be taken place but should not be prolonged.