Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development are necessary for human society to evolve and adaptability in response to the change in times and circumstances. As research intends to develop something new or challenges conventional ideas, which are antiquated or redundant today, it needs liberal support from the authorities including Government since restriction or limitation may prevent scientists to address the challenges of a society: new medication for Ebola, measures to address climate change. While, there is no reservation that freedom and liberty provide the scientist to pursue their passion in order to serve human society, there is a reason to believe that unrestrained liberty often leads to harmful effects on the society: passion to develop nuclear warheads in as small size as possible may lead to chemical explosion and thus, it is a threat to human beings.

However true it may be the case that unconventional thinking is expedient if scientists have to develop medicines or vaccinations in order to stem the growth of deadly diseases: Ebola virus and AIDS. But, unintended passion of scientists may likely to lure them to judge their methods of research in a prejudiced way and they may be in opposition to the Government that Government is restricting the development of new and useful methods to cure diseases. For example, when the group of doctors visited Congo in 2017, where the outburst of Ebola was witnessed, it urged the doctors to develop vaccinations lest it would be a disaster. In their pursuit of medical research, in 2018 they conducted harmful experiments on some samples of human beings which made the life of these samples miserable and even 70 per cent of them died within just 3 days of receiving the antidote. The local news channel in Congo reported in August 2018 that doctors developed some antidote but without testing it, they used it recklessly on human beings since they were prejudiced by their passion. In brief, freedom on scientific research often pushes the boundaries of passion among scientists which make them to behave imprudently.

Another argument that supports the idea that liberty often leads to undesirable consequences is that in the pursuit of developing new technologies, scientists often disregard the negative aspects of a technology. As the world is moving towards artificial intelligence or machine learning, the fraternity of computer scientists is pensive on hammering out robots or driver less cars and even some of them have started working on machines, that would work independently shortly after processing the commands given to them, that pose grave threat to the existence of human society as quoted by the Director of Research in The Economist Magazine in October 2019 edition. This can be exemplified by the recent developments in China where scientists implemented the programs on a robot and urged the robot to respond to a question posed by the scientists through the use of computer programming. The news leaks in China in September 2019 cited that the robot responded to a question of first thing it would consider to do immediately after the completion of computer programming that it would open a zoo immuring human beings for other robots to see and enjoy. This news sent shock waves across scientific community and Chinese Government has ordered to stop the further development on

the project. Thus, the immutable liberty and freedom given to scientists may likely to lead unintended consequences.

However, one argument that may be considered in the support for scientists to work independently with absolute freedom is that world has witnessed and relished great discoveries because of unrestricted access was given to scientists in order to understand the world outside earth. The famous theory of time, space and distance was first developed by Sir Isaac Newton which was a landmark discovery and which made possible for human beings to consider the distance between earth and moon and it was possible because Government that time provided absolute discretion to scientists. For instance, the unlimited freedom given in this field also encouraged another scientist, i.e., Albert Einstein, who refined the earlier theory and developed the theory of relativity which made possible to accurately estimate the distance between objects on earth and objects outside of earth. Thus, freedom and liberty made possible for human to travel to moon and mars.

While concluding, as it can be understand from the above paragraph that freedom led the way to evolution of physical science, but as scientists have tendency to pursue their passion prejudicially, liberty can cause human deaths and possible extinction of human society. Therefore, freedom should be given but with reservations to stem possible disasters, if evolution is to happen sustainably.