Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author concluded that deer population is declining because of not being able to move from ice to ice for food. He used the evidence of global warming that led to melting of ice coinciding with declining population of deer since melting ice restricted their movement for food. However, the argument does not make a cogent case since it rife with holes and fissures. Before it can be evaluated, following evidences must be collected and verified for accuracy.

First of all, an evidence is required to justify the facts stating the decline in population of deer is caused by lack of food in their existing habitats. Since, if not, argument may not be true. For instance, it may happen that enough food is available on their existing homes but due to some other reason, perhaps due to internecine, their count is decreasing. Further, an evidence is also required to validate the claim of decline in population caused by food only. Since, if there is no food to eat, it would probably lead to it, but, however, it may be specious. For example, it may happen that food is available at their existing homes and at other nearby homes that can be travelled to, but due to a disease which has wreak havoc on them caused their decline. If these examples were true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, an evidence is necessary to prove that global warming has melted their existing paths. Since, if not, argument cannot be accepted. For instance, it may happen that global warming has caused melting of ice in other regions such as Nordic or Antarctica but its effects not yet reached to Arctic. Further, proof is also required to establish the relationship between how cold and hot temperature is required for plants to sustain and for them to travel. Since, it may happen that global warming might have melted their paths to other islands but might not resulted into the separation of their island consist of deer and plants’; they can scavenge for food on their existing island, but they are declining in numbers because of large scale hunting. If these cases were true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Thirdly, evidence must be collected and prove that travelling or rather jumping from one island to another is the only method for searching for food. Since, it may happen that they might know swimming and are able to swim just like all other animals, therefore, able to find food. But, poaching and hunt causing their population to decline. Further, proof must be submitted to know the condition of location where these plants grow and sustain. Since, it may happen that there is no effect on these plant location and they can reach to these locations by swimming or an NGO transporting them to these locations, but due to illness they are not able to eat, therefore dying in large numbers. Unless the evidence are fully reliable and comprehensive, it is not possible to fully support the argument.

The argument as it stands now, is clearly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide above evidence and offer more inputs, perhaps in the form of study covering their different sources of food, their different methods to reach to their food locations and global warming melting their existing food locations, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.