Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer argues that diet rich in dairy products actually increases the risk of osteoporosis what is found to be in contradiction to the widely held belief. It is based on the premises that study that covered long period had concluded that people who were consuming diets rich in dairy products had higher rate of bone fractures than that of other participants of the study. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a large number of unverified evidences.

First such evidence is the effect of high rate of bone fractures that is caused by only dairy products. However, there may be the case that these participants were also consuming other food items which might have opposite reaction to that of the dairy products that would make the argument significantly weakened. For example, the milk provides Vitamin D that is essential for bone development and maintenance but consuming milk that is not natural or rather produced by machines might have not sufficient quantities of Vitamin D. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should collect the evidence from their diet history to know what type of milk and dairy products these people were consuming and should also prove that these people were consuming milk that had enough quantity of Vitamin D.

Secondly, the writer’s argument is incorrectly based on the analogy that bone fractures were not caused by genetic and environmental factors. However, there may be important differences in this relationship such as those people might had higher chances of bone diseases because of genetic factors and the environment they were living into was prone to bone fractures that would make the argument unreliable. For example, it may likely that people had higher chances of this malady because their ancestors had issues with their bones and the environment is rife with pollution and harmful chemicals that impair the bone density. Hence, in order to make the argument more reliable, the writer should assemble the evidences to show that these people had not had any issues with their genetic conditions and should also assert that only dairy products were responsible for the bone fractures.

Finally, the writer has arbitrarily assumed the unverified evidences pertaining to the statistical numbers or percentages. However, it is possible that large number of people may denote only 50.5 percentage of the total people studied while other 49.5 percentage had not reported any bone issues that would make the argument unacceptable. For example, it may be found that people who consumed consistently dairy products and reported bone issues were only just above the half of the population while other part of the population were found to be immune despite consuming dairy products. Thus, in order to make the argument more valid, the writer should compile the evidence from the study for what constitutes large number of people and should also demonstrate that these people were in large number as per standards of medical society.

After close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unverified evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the results proposed by the study.