Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The Omega University recommends the abolition of professor evaluation procedure that was implemented 15 years ago. To support its claim, it points out to three evidences, namely students of Omega are not getting as much jobs as that of Alpha, students’ grades started to rise unconventionally and students’ grades does not reflect true achievement. Its chain of reasoning seems true at first sight, however, it is based on certain unwarranted assumptions about the relation between professor evaluation system and rise in grades. Therefore, in order to better evaluate the argument and analyse it logical soundness, additional explanation is required to establish the evidences that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

First of all, are students of Omega and Alpha comparable? It means, here it is assumed that students of Alpha and Omega are of equal quality. However it may not be the case since it may find that quality of students of Alpha has increased in the last 15 years due to strict and enhanced entry requirements, thus its students are in more demand among employers. On the other hand, Omega has relaxed or not updated its entry requirement, thus, its students are falling behind in the race for jobs. Further, it may also find that Alpha has implemented or updated its course curriculum as per the requirement of the employers, thus, its courses reflect the perfect match between classroom training and on the job training, and hence, students of Alpha are getting jobs faster than that of Omega, which may not have any course related to industry or business or if it has these courses, but they are not updated as per changes phased by the industry in the last 10 years. Thus, its students face severe mis-match between their curriculum and industry needs. Therefore, without considering these details, the recommendation remains unsupported.

Secondly, have grades increased because of only implementation professor evaluation system? In other words, it is assumed that professors started conferring higher grades because they believe in reciprocation. However, it may not be the case since it may find that professors follow strict procedures for evaluation of students and they are committed to moral practices, but with the increase in quality of students enrolled in the University in the last 15 years and their consequently better performance, they are being graded generously. Further, it may also find that in order to attract more employers to the campus where students have good grades, Omega has relaxed course requirements in terms of mitigating the complexities and difficulties in essential courses. Thus, Omega has made easy for the students to get good marks where professors are not doing anything with the hope of receiving good evaluation back but are helpless to give higher grades because of simple course and easy examination system. Therefore, without knowing the scope of the assumed relation, this approach cannot be considered accurately to support the claim.

Finally, are students grades inflated? In other words, it is assumed that students of Omega are not of good quality but their grades are high because of this professor evaluation system. However, it may not be the case since it may find that students are of good quality and their grades actually represent their potential but because they are failing in only interviews due to their poor communication skills since their courses are focussed on quantitative skills as required in the industry but they are not being taught communication or soft skills, thus, getting fewer jobs. Further, it may also find that industries are moving to a locations which is near to Alpha, thus employers are more comfortable going to the campus of Alpha and recruit from there and it may also find that students of Omega are not interested in getting jobs but rather starting up their own ventures in the emerging fields of data science because of their curriculum was focussed on quantitative skills. Therefore, unless the claim is fully representative, the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, with the lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the recommendation, as it stands now, is unpersuasive. If the Omega is able to offer more evidence perhaps in the form of research study covering their course stringency, match between its courses and industry requirements, preference of employer with regard to Alpha, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.