The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt recommends the prohibition of skateboard users (SU) since it would lead to rise in business once again. It does so on the basis of relationship between increase in SU and decrease in business. However, the prompt does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and cracks. Before the recommendation is properly evaluated, following questions must be answered.

First of all, does the previous high levels start to fall in last 2 years only? In other words, the question must be answered for the period till which high levels were in existence and from when it starts to decrease since it can provide comprehensive picture about the trend. For instance, it may happen that those previous levels were existed till 10 years ago and after that the businesses were falling continuously but owners started to blame for the last two years because the rate of decline was unacceptable. Further, the question must also be answered for previous 2 years decline since it may happen that the decline in last 2 years was temporary and due to some unavoidable circumstances such as sudden change in stock keeping requirements by the government but situation may improve in coming years. If both the instances were true, then the recommendation does not hold the water.

Secondly, does the increase in SU cause decrease in business? In other words, the question must be answered for a correlation between increase in SU and corresponding decrease in business since it may be specious. For instance it may happen that people who come to plaza for shopping may like to use skates which led to increase in SU lately but decrease in business may be due to rise in prices abruptly. Further, it may also happen that Plaza may have opened up a skate recreation facility for the shoppers to buck the fall in business to which shoppers responded enthusiastically but resolute not to shop because of higher prices. If both the hypothesis hold the merit, then the recommendation is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, do SU cause litter and vandalism? Or do shoppers feel solicitous negatively towards SU? In other words, the questions must be answered for providing a validation and evidence to show that these SU are responsible for littering and rising vandalism and shoppers in the Plaza are reluctant to shop because of presence of SU in Plaza since the answers to these may provide the cause for decrease in business. For instance it may happen that SU are coming to Plaza just to enjoy skates and they may have propriety therefore, not responsible for littering and vandalism but the shoppers, though they are decreasing but habitual to littering and prone to vandalism due to fraud or deceiving practices pursued by businesses. Further, the question must be answered for the concern of people towards SU since it may happen that shoppers are nonchalant towards SU but paying attention to the sudden and steep rise in prices and therefore, reluctant to shop. Unless the recommendation is fully representative, it cannot be used to effectively support the argument.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it stands now, is considerably flawed since it relies heavily on several unwarranted assumptions. If the owner offers a more answers to above questions and more evidence perhaps in the form of products available in the store, their price pattern and competition during the last 10 years, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation.