The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president argues that his company should resume the production of overcoat because now he has a new raw material supplier and production of this coat after a gap of five years would increase profitability. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

First such evidence is analogy between no production of coats in the last five years and piling up of demand for these coats. However, there may be the case that in the last five years consumer preferences have changed significantly to its substitutes which would make the argument unreliable. For instance, the research conducted by Boston Marketing Group in 2014 concluded that products which were out of markets for more than twenty four months continuously, chances of reviving their demand are very less and even for some products, there are no chances at all. Hence, in order to overcome this flaw, the vice president should collect the evidences from market survey for the preference of customers for buying a product which would come to market after five years and should also prove that customers are still inclined to buy these coats.

Secondly, the argument is incorrectly based on the analogy between reviving the production and profitability. However, it is possible that five years ago the company was able to procure raw material for these coats at marginal rate but now the rates are unconscionable which would make such a comparison irrelevant. A good example of this is the demand-supply theory of economics which concluded that as the demand rises for a product, its prices increases. It is likely that as production of these coats starts, demand for their raw materials increases which would increase the prices of raw materials and would impact the profits of the company. Therefore, to make the argument more valid, the vice president should compile the evidences for the prices of their raw material for the next five years through an economic research and should also demonstrate that prices would be at marginal level.

Finally, the vice president has arbitrarily assumed analogy between increase in prices of other products and possible increase in the prices of coats. However, there may be important differences in this relationship which would make the argument significantly weak. This can be exemplified by substitution theory of economics which states that prices of substitute products increases because of limited or no supply of the intrinsic products since consumer would be forced to satiate their demand by resorting to these substitutes. And consumer behaviour is such that when the main product returns to the market, consumers ignore it because their preferences have been switched. It is likely that price of these coats would not be at a level which were existed five years ago. Therefore, to make the argument more reliable, the vice president should assemble the evidences from market research to know the availability of substitute products for these coats and should also assert that there are no substitute products available in the market.

After close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unverified evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed measure.