The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to Sartorian’s vice president, resuming the production of their alpaca overcoat will result in profits never seen before. The memo presents us with a prompt based on several unstated assumptions, some of which could undermine the logical construction of the reasoning if they prove unverified. In fact, we should consider the changes occurred in the fashion world in terms of taste, prices, demand and offer.

First, five years in the clothing field are a huge amount of time. Customers’ taste changes, as materials and designs do: this represents the first flaw in the vice president’s discourse. He is convinced that the alpaca overcoat will still be desired by customers, representing an up-to-date piece. However, trends could have changed and alpaca could be considered no more fashionable, causing a decrease of demand or at least not the expected pent-up. The vice president should take into account the possibility of renewing the overcoat design in order to buck the pace of fashion evolution. At the same time, old customers’ opinion should be surveyed, trying to understand if they are looking for a timeless design or for a more contemporary one.

Second, he is sure that Sartorian competitors, after five years, still have not produced a similar product. This assumption should be verified, since no prove or reason is offered by the memo to be creditable. Did Sartorian carry out surveys about its competitors? Are there statistics or other kind of data which back this assumption? A careful market analysis should be conducted to state the competitors’ proposals and to evaluate their effectiveness and demand. Moreover, alpaca wool is quite an expensive material and this could represent an obstacle. In a world which appreciates low-cost fashion and cheap clothes can be found almost at every corner, is producing such a sophisticated coat a winning choice? It could be, but Sartorian should also be aware of the competitors’ offer and if they managed to promote on the market a coat with an analogous design, but cheaper due to its material. In addition, fashion nowadays seems to have a strong ethical inclination, and using alpaca wool could cause discontent in some of the customers, who perhaps were not so aware on the matter five years ago.

Third, if a general increase in prices of clothing can be acknowledged, this does not automatically lead to an augment in profits. In fact, the vice president is not guaranteed with the success of the product and customers could be disappointed due to the increased price. If Sartorian relies on aficionados of the alpaca overcoat, they will expect a reasonable increase in price, but not a doubling or more. Therefore, a careful proportioning and setting of the overcoat’s cost should be done, evaluating more precisely the market condition and its ebb and flow.

In conclusion, vice president’s reasoning might seem to flow without flaws, but if more accurately examined, it reveals several drawback caused by the unstated assumptions. Therefore, a punctual revision of the presented policy would be recommended, in order to elaborate a more effective strategy in presenting again an old product on the market and in encountering the customers’ demand.