"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee recommendation concludes that the city could safely cut funds dedicated to education and sports due to a dramatic decrease of the city’s birthrate. As solid as the argument may seem, it would need further evidence to be effectively supported, evidence which at the present state is not cogently illustrated or highlighted.

The prompt regarding the decline in birthrate may be proved unwarranted without further specification. In fact, the committee considered a restricted range of time to interpret the birthrate data. A broader analysis should be carried out in order to understand if this decline has been a steady tendency for years, or if there has been a decrease only with respect to the last five years. Moreover, it should be pointed out that no provision is made for future years: the birthrate could grow again, frustrating the whole committee’s forecast and causing a misplacement of the funds, with hard to predict consequences.

Additionally, the claim about the dramatic drop of pupils enrolled in public schools is not substantiated by any evidence. To verify the accurateness of the prompt, we should know the current rate of youngsters attending public school. In fact, if now there is a low enrollment rate, it will not be automatically the same in the future. For example, if during the next years the percentage of children attending public school switched from 50% to 75%, there would be a significantly higher number of students, regardless of the decreased birthrate. Consequently, the lack of funding would inevitably damage the quality of school and activities, causing a paucity of teachers, personnel and resources. An analogous reasoning could be applied to sports activities as well.

Finally, the redirection of funding towards adult-oriented facilities could jeopardize the quality of the present public educational and sports services. The recommendation does not clarify if the reallocated funding would allow improvements in school and sports advancement. Moreover, it is not specified which these adult facilities and programs would be. If education is not adequately funded, in the future the city’s population will be lacking instruments and knowledge to exploit and enjoy those prospected programs, resulting in a waste of time and money. What’s more, subtracting funds to sports fields and recreational facilities will cause enormous difficulties to future adults who will have children and families: the committee did not mention any measure in this sense. There is no evidence of a combined and orchestrated effort towards enhancing overall the quality of life and to prove the proposed measure as effective, a further detailing and description of the transitions of focus from a young to an adult city.

To sum up, the recommendation could reveal as accurate and wise, but with such a lack of evidence and without an explanation of the assumptions which substantiate it, it is impossible carrying out an evaluation. A lot more data and surveys would be necessary in order to reach a complete overview of the present situation and, therefore, to outline a possible future plan.