Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state.

Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position,

you should address both of the views presented.

In today's world where there is a steep decrease in forests, trees and wildlife, it is a topic which demands focus and attention. When one group of people might argue that the wilderness should be developed for economic gain, I completely disagree with their thoughts. A government must preserve it's wilderness areas and I would like to back my stance with the following examples.

Firstly, in the past few decades wildlife has faced a rapid descent due to human intervention with its environment. Burning and demolishing of raft of forests for factories and houses have caused a displacement of wildlife from their indigenous environment. Humans must understand that we live in a balanced ecosystem and by interfering and dislocating the local fauna, we are creating an imbalance in the natural ecosystem, that is, the chain of all life. And to avert this deleterious imbalance, the government must take the steps to preserve the wilderness areas.

Moreover, some nations, for example, India, have taken few measures to make this possible. The forests in India have been classified into many categories and some forests have been categorized under 'Reserved forests' which prevents the general

public from entering or interfering with the forest in any manner. These forests are in their pristine state teeming with wild animals and beautiful trees, assiduously taken care of by experts. These forests also act as a source of income for the government

by making them open to public for sight seeing with limited interaction. Hence, all the governments must try to work towards a collective goal of wilderness preservation.

Finally, it can be seen that by developing these areas, it leads to potential economic gain of the nation but this growth is only temporary and in the long run, the resources and balance that the wilderness provides will become void and the people of the nation will have to pay the consequences.

To conclude, it's the responsibility of the government and every human being on this planet, to preserve what mother nature has provided to us and not tarnish it. Its not only a duty towards oneself but also toward the future generations to come and by taking the measures to preserve wilderness areas, we will be leaving them a better place to live in.