The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of the Maple County has predicted that if the proposed measure to prevent the development of the existing farmland in the country is passed, it will lead to a significant increase in housing prices in the Maple County. This conclusion has been supported by an example from 15 years ago where the housing prices in the Pine County has doubled now after the restrictions has been adopted. Also, another evidence to support their prediction is that by limiting the supply of new housing, it could lead to an increase in the price of housing. However, the prediction has a lot of holes and assumptions and these need to be evaluated thoroughly before implementing any decisions.

To begin with, the example that the opponents have given to oppose the proposed measure is the adoption of a similar restriction in the Pine County fifteen years ago. They note that the housing prices have since more than doubled. But, they do not provide a clear view about why the pricing has increased so drastically. Is it just due to the adoption of the restriction or has there been a significant development in that county in the past decade? Has there been any new findings about that particular geographic area that could have led to the significant increase in the value? These questions raise doubts about the validity of this evidence.

Moreover, there has been no comparison study done between the two counties. How much developed was the Pine County when such a restriction was imposed? Is the Maple County in a similar stage of development or has it developed more than the Pine County that the restriction might not have the same effect as it had on the Pine County? Without the answer to these questions, it is ludicrous to predict the result of a proposed measure by providing another County as an example.

One more question that is not answered is that the council doesn't have any supporting evidence to prove the the County is becoming overdeveloped. Maybe the County is not yet at that point and to impose a restriction early might even lead

to the decrease in the housing prices. It is important that the council looks into it sedulously and then be concerned about such an issue.

In conclusion, it can be said that the prediction that the council has arrived at is flawed without additional valid evidence. To go forward with this decision, would be a big mistake by the council and it would be better if they could spend some time answering the above questions and then make a prediction or move forward.