Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leaders bring about social and political change as well as justice for the oppressed and underprivileged people in a society. To tilt the unbalanced scale in a nation to its natural balanced position, people with the ability to lead and command people are a must. But are these leaders created just because of the demands that are placed on them? No. These people take-up charge when a society is in turmoil and is separated based on race, religion, status, etc. Leaders give people a reason to unite and fight for a common cause.

The leaders of a nation are maverick people and they are not driven by demands but rather by the greater good. This is what makes them effective and helps them guide people towards successful change. Mahatma Gandhi, one of the great leaders, the world has ever known was inundated with demands from all sides: the British, the political parties, the freedom fighters but he was tenacious and always did what he felt right which made people followed him with unquestioning obedience. It takes great courage to lead people and even greater courage to not give in to misplaced demands. One who possesses this quality is the one who will come out to be hailed throughout history.

On the other hand, there are instances where leaders are created by demands and I think modern contemporary society is an example. In a democracy, the political leaders are chosen by people and they work to fulfil the demands and solve everyday issues of people. But it is these political heads who have also been in a myriad of controversies for corruption and scams. These people are different from the great leaders who fought for our freedom because here they are reward-driven.

Thus, to conclude, the natural leaders who fought for the people focused only on how to bring about change, how to improve the lives of people. They were altruistic people and that's what attracted people towards them while the modern leaders are not as selfless. This demonstrates the difference between actual leaders and leaders created out of demands.