Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The main objective of colleges and universities is to impart academic knowledge to students. But only with expertise in theory, students struggle when it comes to the outside world. If a student spends all the four years of his time spending at one particular place, he/she gets used to it, consequentially inhibiting one's adaptive qualities. I agree with the prompt and would like to back my stance with the following examples.

The students who spend one full semester in a foreign university gets the opportunity to experience a very different culture than at their home university. They are not only exposed to the various aspects of teachings and research but also to the multiple aspects of the country itself. It affords the students to be independent and interact with new people. One important feature of education is to have a basic understanding of how things work across the world and what better way to spend a semester in a different country.

Moreover, the research that is going on in another country might be extensive as compared to their home university which provides the students with a great learning opportunity: to read up on new stuff while also being part of a multi-cultured team. It will help the students in the future when they start working for corporates or industries, by understanding the intricacies involved in working as part of a team with members belonging to different backgrounds and also on how to overcome these limitations.

Another added advantage is that the student has to plan the details during his whole period of stay there. It contributes in improving the planning abilities of a student and at the same time exposes him to what all entails when one has to move from one place to another, which one will surely have to go through during an adult phase.

On the whole, to study in a foreign country for one whole semester opens a new world of opportunities and exposure to students which not only equips them to face the world in the future but at the same time is a once in a lifetime opportunity.