Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

People are not always driven by morally correct actions. Sometimes it's just the circumstances that force people to do things even though they might feel guilty about it. Infact, people console themselves that such an action was required. So, it is not the amount of good or the amount of bad that defines moral correctiveness but the view of the people.

The perspective of every person varies towards what they find morally acceptable. A thief who steals food for his starving family might think it is correct while on the oher hand, the people who have been robbed may not share the same view. The family might have been saving money for some medical expense or the robber might have inadvertently stolen something important that the family valued so much, leaving the family to grieve. In this case, one cannot decide which side is good or bad. Its all the perception of each individual.

Sometimes we can find that the good outweighs the bad and is required. An example would be new schemes implemented by government to help the poor and needy. The government might pass an ordinance to waver all the current education and agricultural loans which will result in a lot of good for the poor, however, the banks who sactioned the loans suffer a great loss. But it is clearly obvious that this action is morally correct.

On the other hand, something which might seem morally right and help a lot of people might have one outright disadvantage. For example, a new factory is opening and people are provided with a lot of jobs, but the factory produces a lot of toxic waste that is harmful for the environment. The factory helps improve the lives of thousands of people but at the same time degrades the environment. There's always two sides to a coin and the amount of good or bad is not a measurable quantity.

Also, the reason states that the results are more important than the intent but not always the result goes against the intent. It is the circumstance that changes it and if one proceeds with the same intent again and again, there is no guarantee that the result will always be against. Sometimes it might favour the intent and might result in bad things.

To conclude, an action cannot be always categorized as morally correct or wrong. Sometimes, a situtation might demand certain actions that might not seem right but nevertheless required. And to claim, actions that result in more good than more bad seems absurd when good and bad is based on perspective and is not quantifiable. Hence, anything that deos good is welcome but when an action involves any amount of bad, its better to read the situation more clearly and take a decision rather than saying the good outweighs the bad.