Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

In today's world, it is not uncommon to hear debates about morality of actions. The prompt suggests an action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from it is greater than the amount of bad. The prompt further gives us reason that in assessing the morality of an action, the results are more important than the intent. I mostly disagree with the prompt for three reasons.

First of all, an action that produces more good results than bad results doesn't mean the action is morally correct. Moral has to do with upholding good values, virtue, or discipline and this sometimes may not apply to all types of decisions. Take for instance, technological developments. A good example of this is the invention of airplane by the Wright brothers. This invention has made it extremely easier to move from place to place; across countries or continents, conveniently and faster. However, like for every invention, there are cons to this invention such as loss of lives from plane crashes. Despite this, we can all agree that the good this invention has brought mankind outweighs the bad. So can we call the action of the Wright brothers "morally right" because of this? For all we know, they could be bad people with little or no morals, but were smart enough to make this invention. So no, it simply foresight and innovation, and has nothing to do with morals.

However, there are cases where good results reflect the morality of the action or the person/people behind the action. For example, consider someone who receives donations to charity organizations. While it’s his/her duty to make sure those funds are used to take care of under-privileged people, he/she could also decide to use the money for personal gains. So doing the right thing here, although it’s the person's job, is what we call a morally correct act, because they could have easily gone sideways.

Lastly, as previously mentioned, an action producing more good results than bad doesn't automatically make the action morally upright. Bad people can also make actions that produce more good than bad, that doesn't make their actions morally correct. For instance, if a thief robs a bank and donates a portion of that money to charity, does that make such an action morally correct? Of course not! While the intent might be good, the source and morality of the thief negates such act of kindness.

In conclusion, the morality of an action cannot simply be determined by comparing how much good it produces and neglecting the intent of the person or people performing the action. It simply doesn't work that way. An action that results in more good than bad can both be morally correct or not.