"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

This business loan application states that a new jazz music club in Monroe would be highly profitable. The author reaches this conclusion by citing a couple of reasons such as little competition and that jazz is a popular music genre in Monroe. While the author’s claims are plausible, they are based on assumptions which would need further insights or details to establish.

First, the author mentions that the nearest competition is 65 miles away, so the new jazz club will be profitable. This assumption is rife with holes because the author assumes people will be unwilling to drive all the way down to the other jazz club. It is possible this other jazz music club is the best in Monroe and has been in existence for a long time, hence has a built a solid fan base of loyal customers. It is also possible this jazz club offers incentives to their members that the proposed new club may not be offering to its prospective customers. Likewise, there’s the possibility that majority of jazz enthusiasts in Monroe actually live close to this other club and it will be inconvenient for them to commute all the way down to the new one, regardless of how great the new jazz club may be.

Moving further, the author wrongly assumes last year’s attendance of the annual Monroe festival will be the same this year. What if the attendance was high last year because it was Monroe’s turn to host all jazz enthusiasts across the country? That would mean only jazz lovers in Monroe will attend this year’s festival, and that undermines the author’s assumption. Another line of thought is the possibility of a bigger annual festival comprising of jazz and other music genres happening around the same time as the annual Monroe festival. If that happens, there may be a drastic decline in Monroe’s festival attendance.

The author also fails to mention the correlation between festival attendance and weeknight show to the success of the proposed jazz club. What if residents of Monroe would rather attend a jazz festival or listen to a radio program than go to a jazz club? We just can’t know for sure.

Lastly, the author cites a national survey which states jazz fans spend $1,000 on average on jazz entertainment. While this may be true, we don’t know the scope or validity of the survey. For all we know the study may not have involved Monroe residents, and if it did involve them, it may have been a few jazz enthusiasts out of maybe hundreds. If that is the case, the author’s stance is weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s proposal, while convincing, may not hold because they are based on several assumptions without concrete facts to back them up. To determine if this business plan will be successful, the author has to provide more accurate details or insightful studies or surveys.