The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the newsletter report, the author recommends the daily use of Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil, to prevent cold and therefore lower absenteeism. He/she reaches this conclusion by citing a report which states consumption of fish can prevent colds. However, to properly evaluate the author’s arguments, the following assumptions must be analyzed.

Citing the study’s report, the author wrongly assumes that what happens in East Meria also applies to West Meria. This is simply not true because they are two different places; it’s like comparing North Korea to South Korea. Therefore, the fact that cold is the major cause of absenteeism in East, doesn’t mean it’s the same cause of absenteeism in West Meria. Also, the author assumes the rate of absenteeism is also high in West Meria. While this may be true, there’s no direct evidence to back this up. For all we know, absenteeism in West Meria might currently be on an all-time low! If that’s true, the author’s argument is weakened and doesn’t hold water.

Likewise, the author concludes consuming diets rich in fish is the sole reason for the people of East Meria not experiencing much cold. What if that’s not the case? What if it’s because of a different factor or an amalgam of factors? For all we know it could be that East Meria is a hot region, therefore people seldom experience cold. If that is true, then the author’s stance is seriously undermined. Furthermore, the report doesn’t provide any concrete evidence to support its results. There’s no direct correlation as to why fish consumption is the reason for reduced cold for the people of East Meria. It merely just states people complain less of cold because fish consumption is high without any scientific or nutritional reason(s) to back this up. If truly the high consumption of fish is not the reason for reduced colds in East Meria, then the author’s suggestion of using Ichthaid to the inhabitants of West Meria is invalidated.

Lastly, the report states that cold as the most frequent excuse for absence from school and work. The implication of this is that the author believes the excuses given are true. What if most of the people that were absent from school and work lied about catching a cold? What if they were perfectly okay and are just lazy people? It’s also possible something else caused their absence such as a family emergency and they just felt citing cold as the reason is more convenient that going into details of why they were really absent. If that’s the case, then the author’s suggestion of using Ichthaid is weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is deeply flawed because it is based on several baseless assumptions. To properly evaluate the author’s suggestion of using Ichthaid to prevent cold and hence absenteeism from school and work, the author has to provide concrete proof (maybe in form of a detailed research study) that indeed cold is the reason people missed school and work in East Meria and that consuming fish supplements can help combat this. Otherwise, the author’s current argument, as it stands, is flawed and doesn’t hold.