Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more influence on children's behavior.

The portrayal of violence on the media and its effects on viewers has been a trendy debate topic for years now. The prompt suggests two reasons for the increase in violence in the society, especially among children; the increase in violence showed in the media and the influence of peer groups or parental role models. I strongly agree with the latter and argue peer groups and parental role models are a bigger influence on children’s behavior.

First of all, charity at begins at home. Children tend to imitate what they see or hear in their immediate environment. So parents play a huge role in shaping the behavior of their children. How? The character, behavior, or acts of the parents may influence their child or children. For instance, a child who grows up in an abusive home may tend to be more aggressive than a child that grew up in a peaceful, loving home. Children at a younger age do not know the difference between good and bad, so if a child is repeatedly exposed to violence at a young age, such child may think violence is okay and will grow up with that mindset. The same goes for what is depicted in the media, a child may start a fight after watching a Kung Fu or Boxing match trying to imitate what he/she just saw on TV. However, the difference is that, what children see on the media can be regulated through parental guidance. Almost all media platforms now allow parents or guardians to control the kind of content their children sees, unlike children witnessing violence in their homes or environment in real life which can hardly be controlled.

Secondly, like the saying goes, “show me your friend and I will tell you who you are”. This is a direct representation of the influence peer groups can have on people, especially children. Children are generally considered naïve, and if they have friends who engage in violence, they may also resort to violent acts too so as to “look cool” to their friends or “feel among”. Peer groups influence children much more than the media because children readily have more access to friends than the media. Even if children have uncontrolled access to media, violent habits can be easily noticed by their parents and quickly corrected.

However, that is not to undermine the effects of media on children, especially social media. The social media, for instance, is filled with foul languages, profanity, and other forms of violence and aggressive acts. Children can easily pick up these bad habits and start practicing or showing them in real life. However, the difference between media influence and peer group or parental influence is that media influence can be curbed. Several social media platforms have algorithms in place that detects and remove violent words, music, or videos, so kids don’t see them. There are also age limits that prevent children of certain age from viewing certain content considered too young for their age so they don’t get influenced negatively.

In conclusion, both the media and peer groups and parental role models can influence children negatively. However, I mostly agree that peer group and parental influence plays a much more significant role in influencing children’s behavior.