A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

In this argument, the author states that the newly opened seafood restaurant should be popular and profitable. This conclusion is reached based on recent studies which indicate an increase in the consumption of seafood. However, this argument is flawed for several reasons.

Starting with the sales study conducted in Bay City restaurants. The details of the study are vague. If the study involved only a few customers in a few Bay City restaurants, then it is impossible to know for sure if the majority of the city’s residents’ like for seafood. For all we know, the survey may have been filled by people who are seafood lovers. It is also possible the survey was filled by tourists who don’t actually live in Bay City. Hence, the validity of the supposed 30% increase in seafood consumption is questionable.

Likewise, the author assumes that since most families in the city have two streams of income and they prefer to eat out, they would opt for seafood dishes. While this assumption may be true for some families, we just can’t say for sure. What if most of the families prefer other dishes than seafood? This would seriously undermine the author’s position.

The author made mention of two-income families’ concern for healthy eating. This suggest the author considers seafood healthy. Now, this may be true, but we wouldn’t know where each family stands on this. Some may consider it healthy, some may not. Thus, if only a handful of these families consider seafood healthy, then it undermines the author’s views that the new seafood restaurant will be popular and profitable.

In conclusion, the author’s evidences on the profitability and popularity of Captain Seafood restaurant do not hold because they are based on unwarranted assumptions. For this argument to be properly evaluated to show the viability of Captain Seafood, the author has to provide more insightful sales study or surveys that covers the seafood preferences of not just two-income families across Bay City.