The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us, Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the business manager proposed the restoration of the time allocated to the weather and local news segment in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing more advertising revenues. The manager reaches this conclusion by citing complaints from viewers about their weather and local news coverage and the cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses. However, to properly evaluate the author’s recommendation, three evidences must be provided.

First, the manager mentions the TV station has devoted more time to covering national news and less time covering weather and local news. However, the manager fails to mention the percentage increase and decrease of the respective sections of their late-night news program. Perhaps, the weather and local news segment’s duration was cut by half; if that’s true, then the manager’s argument holds. Or perhaps, the time for national news was increased by a minute and the weather and local news duration was also reduced by a minute, then this accounts for no significant change. If the latter is the case, then there may be another reason chasing customers away and the manager’s current stance is seriously weakened.

Secondly, the manager states there were complaints from viewers about the TV station’s coverage of weather and local news during the same period, and wrongly conclude it’s tied to the reduced time frame of the weather and local news segment. While this may be true, it is also possible that it isn’t. Perhaps, the complaints were about the quality of the weather and news segment and not the reduced time. It’s also possible the complaints were about the efficiency of the news anchor(s) and not the time frame of the news. If both of these are true, then the manager’s argument doesn’t hold water.

The manager further mentions that several local businesses have canceled their advertising contract with them. Here, the manager wrongly assumes the complaints about the weather and local news as the reason for this. However, further scrutiny suggests this may not be case. Perhaps, there is a new TV station in town with cheaper advertising rates than them, or their clients realized advertising with them hasn’t been producing the intended effects and they decided to move to a TV station with a wider reach and larger viewership. It’s also possible that the local businesses are experiencing financial troubles and have to cut back on their expenses, hence the reason for canceling their advertising contracts. Even worse, some may have closed down or moved to an entirely new city. If any of these are true, then the author’s argument is seriously undermined.

In conclusion, the manager’s current proposal of restoring the former duration of the weather and local news segment to attract new customers and avoid losing more advertising contract is deeply flawed because they are based on several baseless assumptions. For the manager’s recommendation to be strengthened, he/she needs to provide a detailed insight into the current situation, perhaps in form of a detailed report on customer satisfaction.