"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A country’s national curriculum has been and will remain a subject of scrutiny and debate. The prompt suggests that a nation should require all of their students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly disagree with this for two reasons.

Students studying the same national curriculum can simultaneously be advantageous and disadvantageous. Starting with its pros. Studying the same national curriculum will promote some kind of unity, cooperation, and brotherhood amongst the students. Since they will learn the same subjects, it allows students who share the same interests to bond and learn or exchange ideas or concepts. This helps to fosters bonds all over the country that may be later beneficial to the society in years to come. For instance, consider the many giant tech companies in the US today. Apple Inc. was founded by Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak who were friends in high school even before college. And guess what? Both of them dropped out of college! So if they had had a flexible curriculum, it’s possible we wouldn’t have some of the greatest tech inventions of today.

On the other hand, a nation having the same national curriculum can narrow the thinking, perspectives, scopes, or views of its students. Why is that? Having a broad or diverse curriculum allows students to study beyond what just interests them, it allows them to think outside the box or learn skills that may come in handy for them in the future. For example, consider students who had access to vocational skills as part of their curriculum. Such students can learn to build with their hands by making boxes, chairs, and other cool stuff. Even if such student weren’t interested in vocational studies, they will be equipped with a set of skills they will find useful forever. In the same way, having a uniform national curriculum may hamper the natural talents of students. For example, say there’s a precocious kid interested in painting, but whose school curriculum is limited to the sciences alone. This may limit the child, as he/she will not have the opportunity to nurture their interests, and we all know what happens when a plant is not watered sufficiently. Not studying the same curriculum also allows some kind of diversity in graduates produced by high school. This is somewhat beneficial to the society because waiting for students to study diverse or different courses in college may not work, as not all students will go to college. So whatever they learnt in middle or high school is what they contribute in building the society.

In conclusion, studying the same national curriculum or otherwise, has its pros and cons, and it’s difficult to heavily lean towards either. I would suggest each country to keep an open mind, and weigh the pros and cons of having the same national curriculum before enforcing such a decision.