A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment

A group of developers in the city of Monroe, while writing for a small business loan claim that constructing a jazz club in Monroe would be lucrative and will turn out to be a successful business. The author justifies his claim by stating that the nearest jazz is 65 miles and as most of the people in Monroe are jazz lovers and even many jazz artists reside in Monroe. He also states that on average people spend 1000$ per year on jazz entertainment. He also mentions the for an annual jazz festival in Monroe 100000 people attended. The argument as it present is flawed due to a lack of specific evidence and many unwarranted assumptions. In order to full evaluate the merit of the argument, the following evidence needs to present

To begin, the developers state that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away from Monroe, and if a new jazz club in Monroe would attract all the local residents to the new clib. The author naively assumes that the new jazz club will be successful just because it is nearest to the local residents. First of all, the developers never mentioned that the local residents of Monroe, travel to the jazz club that is 65 miles away nor did the developer mention that the jazz club that is 65 miles away is successful. Even if we assume the people of Monroe go to the jazz which is 65 miles away, maybe they go there because it offers more than the jazz and has a variety of services only that jazz club possess. It can also be the case that people go there for other tourist attractions and visit the jazz club that is 65 miles away just for the purpose of visiting and not because they are interested in jazz or jazz club. Therefore, absence of evidence for all the above situations makes the argument weaker.

Moreover, the developers naively assume that people are interested in jazz and would visit their jazz club as jazz is extremely popular in Monroe, and about 100,000 people were present at Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer. The developers, in this case argue that all the above factors may lead to success of the new jazz club.What if, most of the 100,000 people who attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer were mostly outsiders and hardly any local person of Monroe attended the festival. Also, the time of the event can also have an impact on the attendance at Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer. Since it is summer, most of the local residents attended it as they have free time to kill but not because of a liking for jazz. If that is the case, and if the residents of Monroe were busy during other times of the year, the club may be flying colors in the summertime but it will be hard for the club to sustain itself during other time. Failure to consider all the above situations and inability to provide proofs for such situation makes the argument of the developers water under the bridge

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is seriously flawed due to the absence of solid evidence or proofs to back the author's claims. If the author is able to provide proofs preferably in a systematic format, it may be possible to evaluate the soundness of the argument and determine if building a jazz club in Monroe city would be profitable or not