Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom.

Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In today's fast-moving world, Competition has become an essential part of society. Due to an increase in supply or decrease in demand for jobs, students have to compete with each other to be the best of the class to have a decent-paying job. Competition is almost everywhere from doing well in sports, getting good grades in college, etc. Some people argue that in today's world, competition is a cardinal aspect and it brings out the best in a student as it galvanizes the pupils to do give their best. On the other hand, some blokes would argue that competition qualifies the hidden potential of the learner and leads to an increase in stress in a student's life. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that getting over competitive is bad for the learner and argue it leads to negative effects because of the following reasons

To begin with, learning as it stands for means the ability to grasp something and doing something productive with the things he or she learned. In a highly competitive scenario, the essence of learning is lost and all that matters is the grades or marks on exam papers. This is leading to rote learning and learning for the purpose of winning against someone rather than enjoying the process of getting to know new things. Most colleges or schools nowadays are encouraging rote learning and glorifying getting 'good' grades rather than letting every child learn at his or her own pace and as a result of that, the students only care about who gets the 'top' grades. Neither the institute nor the students are interested in actually understanding the concepts and how it is used in real-life scenarios. The students and the universities are both fine with it because the students by topping the exams can get the lucrative jobs they want and institutes can advertise about the student's 'achievements. Therefore, as described above, being overly competitive can be hazardous even if motivates learners to perform well in exams.

Furthermore, being in a highly competitive situation can also lead to serious issues of mental health of a student. In many cases, unable to cope up with the pressure of being judged by poor performance, inferiority complex as they cannot perform better than their classmates, and several other reasons, students are also ending their life. For instance, in India, for the past 5 years, approximately 100 students per committed suicide per year as they cannot live up to their parent's expectations or they are unable to withstand the mental stress and anxiety. Such students are brainwashed from their childhood by teachers and parents alike

that if one is unable to perform well on the exams, one cannot do anything in his life and would end as a failure.

The competition which should bring the best in a student is having the converse effect in some cases by claiming the life of a student. Therefore, it is not always fair to compete with others as not everybody is born to do the same thing. Instead, individuals should be allowed to learn at their own pace and work things out instead of being compared to others and feeling humiliated.

In conclusion, being in a highly competitive scenario is certainly a negative trait and instead of promoting learning, competition is having converse effects on the kids. However, it is not the competition that is the culprit but over the competition. Competition does bring out the best in some kids, but other kids should not be disappointed or humiliated as they did not win. Instead, the lads who lost the competition should be taught that losing is part of life and there is nothing to be embarrassed about about failure. They should be taught that they should work hard and enjoy the process instead of focusing on only learning. Therefore, promoting 'healthy' competition among blokes may have a positive effect but raising somebody in highly competitive surroundings, limits learning and is also pernicious to the health and even the life of the learners.