Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations
shape your position.
Education is a cardinal aspect in every lad's life and education certainly has some influence on the way a persons acts and thinks. Learning is a non-trivial thing in
epsecially a students life and the extent of his learning dicides a pupils future by fetching a job or for doing something productive in life. The prompt suggests that
learning is reliant on a human's personal decision and discipline as schools or colleges cannot galvanize students to study. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the
prompt that studying is indeed a person's individual discipilne because of the following reasons.
Firstly, schools and colleges are the center of education and a students indeed learns stuff by attending school or college. They are embodiment of learning, but
schools and universities can also motivate pupils to a certain level. It is students who have to make the extra effort by not giving in to distractions like ignoring
classes to watch movies, chatting with frieds while not paying attention to the class, etc. For instance, it is also regarded 'cool' now-a-days to argue with a teacher
and cause a ruckus as they get attention from fellow classmates and it makes them center of attraction. With all the above distractions, it is normal for a learner to
be swayed to the wrong track. It is student's own choice to give in to the deviations or lead a productive life by ignoring such distractions.
Secondly, as the saying goes, "Humans are social animals", we thrive to socialize with other and try to impress them by doing things we do not like. Students to make
sure they are not ostatrized by fellow classmates do certain things to make friends. For instance, one may flirt a girl because their friends teases him he cannot
speak to girls or they may get into fights for unnecessary reasons just to look good. Also, peer pressure in high in schools or colleges where a mate introduces him
to unhealthy practices like cigeratte, drugs, marijuana, etc. Refusing to accept a cigeratte or drugs may make him look less of a stud and he does not want to have
that 'image'. In these surroudings, only those with strong will and can abstain from doing such things and strive to achieve their goals by focusing on their goals.
Lastly, if a test is conducted, we can disparate marks for different students. Even if everybody was taught by same professor, was taught in same room, was taught the
same subject, some people manage to top the exam by socring high and some poeple cannot do well. If universities alone helps a student to achieve his full potential, why
do we usually encounter such scenarios where different people get different scores? The answer is obvious that a students motivates himself to learn the subject and
he does extra effort at home to do well.
In conclusion, it is true that universities can help students to stay focused only for a certain extent, but after that it is up to the student to be vigilent of his life
and goals and should never forget or give up on his target. Since, students spend limited amount of time in schools or colleges, and teachers a time constraints to
complete their syllabus, it would be implausible for teachers to talk to students about their welfare everyday and keep them motivated.