The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument states that farmers in Relanna increased the price of milk dramatically just to make more profit even though the cost of labor has decreased as compared to ten years ago. He substantiates his claims by saying that the dairy farms rose up by 25% and recent technology made it possible to milk significantly without much effort. The author states that even with all these amenities and reduction in labor cost the farmers increased the price by a huge margin. At first glance, the argument may look fine but the argument is ripe with many unwarranted explanations and a lack of proof. In order to fully evaluate the merits of the argument, the following different scenarios must be considered.

Firstly, the author says that even with the increase in milk production by 25% over the last decade, the farmers are increasing the price. Here the author fails to consider alternate scenarios and did not consider other factors that may contribute to rising in milk price. From the last decade, the population of Relanna will certainly change and the increase in people might be dramatic and the farmers are finding it hard to meet the demands. In addition to that, in that 10 years, inflation also most probably has an effect on the price of milk. It can be the case that both population and inflation have increased by a huge price and farmers have no option but to increase the price of milk in order to meet the cost. Failure to mention the above scenarios only makes the argument water under the bridge and the author should address these alternate cases to consolidate his argument.

Furthermore, the author mentions that with the help of recent technology, the farmers are able to milk significantly with less effort and it also led to a decrease in labor charges, but farmers still increased the price of milk due to their greed. Here the author fails to mention the expense spent on the new technology, its maintenance cost, and the manpower required to maintain it. It can be the scenario where the farmers have spent a huge sum of money on the machine and they need to get earn that money by adding its charge to milk. It can also be the case that the technological machine takes too much energy and a lot of effort and manpower to process milk which further led to an increase in the price of milk. The author did not mention any of the above cases and because of his failure to consider such situations, the argument does not lack merit.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is seriously flawed due to the absence of solid evidence or proofs to back the author's claims. If the author is able to provide proofs preferably in a systematic format, it may be possible to evaluate the soundness of the argument