The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.
"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of
faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey
conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation.
Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."
The president and administrative staff of Grove College - a private institution, urges the college's governing committee that the college should follow its age old
culture of admitting only female students and must oppose coeducation. The president and administrative staff came to this conclusion because they think it would
encourage more female students to apply to the college and also 80% of the learners who participated in a survey opposed coeducation, even though faculty members
were in support of coeducation. Furthermore, in an another survey 50% of students opposed coeducation, which made the author of the argument stick to his recommendation.
In order to properly evaluate the argument, the following unstated assumptions must be considered.
To begin, most of the teachers were supporting coeducation saying that it may result in increse of admission but the author ignored their view as 80% of students who
participated in a survey opposed coeducation. Sometimes, a student may not know what is best for and in such cases a faculty should decide what to do even if it goes
against the wish of the student. Faculty, usually stay in a college longer than students and they may know more than pupils when it comes to matters like this. It can
be the case that they promote coeducation because students get to meet different genders and interacting with each other may help reinforce the students's communication
skills. Also, the students may be habituated to all-women classrooms and may find it hard to adjust to coeducation even though coeducation may benifit the female students.
Therefore, instead of relying on surveys, students and teachers should meet and talk about this issue to understand each others view and then they can decide to take a
step that benfits both teacher and faculty.
Even if we ignore lecturer views, a suvey conducted in the college among students suggest that 80% opposed coeducation. The author fails to mention basic statistics like strength of the college
and number of people participiated in the survey. Perhaps, most of the students were absent on the day the survey was conducted due to some reasons and the minority of
students who took part in the survey opposed coeducation. In such case, the survey deos not represent the student body and onlu shows a biased result. Furthermore, the
author of the argument also did not provide the questions asked in the survey and the way survey was conducted. It can the case that the questions in the survey are hard
to understand or student government - who conducted the survey, failed to properly explain the procedure of survey. The author failed to consider the above unstated assumptions
that weakens the argument.
Aditionally, alumne of the college took place in another survey and over half of the participents opposed coeducation. Firstly, it would be inappropriate to take a survey
from past students of the college on current issue because time have changed and the situaton may also have changed. Just like it would be unwise to apply 10 year old
solution to a new problem, previous students may not be aware of the present scenrio and they cannot properly judge and respond.
In conclusion, the argument as it's present is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions and unanswered questions. If the author is able to present
proof or evidence in a systematic manner, it may be possible to judge if Grove college should adopt or oppose coeducation.