A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The curriculum of a student in their early stages of education plays an important role in the lives of the students throughout. It is not a trivial decision to make and a lot of focus is recommended to be put in. The prompt suggests that all the students to study the same curriculum until they enter college and I strongly agree with it and would like to support my position with following examples.

Firstly, say if there is not a common curriculum throughout the nation, the students when entering college will have a different take on different subjects. While some students might show a prodigious understanding of certain concepts, it might elude the grasp of certain other students as they were not taught or made understood those concepts before college. Moreover, it might make it difficult for the professor to teach certain concepts assuming that all students have the prerequisites required. And that's the reason why it would be preferable for all students to have a common curriculum and a common understanding towards fundamental subjects or concepts over which it is easy to build upon.

Secondly, the curriculum during schooling help shape the young minds. It cultivates interest in students towards certain fields and so it must be made in such a way that a student is exposed to all possible areas of study one can go into, starting from engineering, to medicine, journalism or business. And by following a common curriculum across the nation, all students would likely get an equal exposure towards different areas and would guide them perfectly in taking the right decisions which will help shape their life.

Finally, every student must be given equal chance to have a understanding towards subjects, because one never knows what might help trigger the interest of a student. If its not a common curriculum, to an extent, it's like denying the rights of a student towards fair and equal treatment. To avoid such issues and conundrums, it would be in the best interest to follow the same curriculum.

In conclusion, it is a must that students study the same curriculum as it would be the the best way of paving a successful future for all students. One can argue that there can be a few changes which will help the students better but to have a common body to decide the curriculum for a major factor such as a student's education is the right way.