Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is vague to say that if a piece of information is referred to as a fact, it should be mistrusted, just because much of the information that people assume turns out to be incorrect. The reason given doesn't seem to establish which facts usually prove to be wrong. There are a few categories in which people are usually misled into believing something that is not true. For example, in share markets, people are deceived into buying shares saying its a fact that the company's share value will increase in the future. In those cases, yes the author is maybe right but to generalise to all fields is not acceptable.

Facts are derived based on the history of similar events and are maintained to understand how something might turn out. In the medical field, facts are laid out about different terminal diseases such as cancer to help patients as well as the doctors to provide with the right medication or treatment. If people start mistrusting all these facts, then there can never be a proper regimen. Another example would be in the field of physics and mathematics. Many theorems and proofs assume certain things as facts. And if these facts are not right, then the whole theorem proves incorrect. This includes even the famous "law of gravity" by Newton and to mistrust this law would shake the foundations that it has been built upon.

Moreover, some facts are conspicuous. Rainy season in Chennai, India is from September to November is a fact and it would be foolish to mistrust such a fact because its the pattern of the climate. It may prove to be false after centuries when Earth has experienced

colossal calamities but in the present and the immediate future, its a fact and people accept it.

However, people should also ask questions about facts that don't seem plausible than blindly accepting them. They can try to research into it and find the reason behind this claim. If the argument is satisfactory or understandable, it makes sense to believe it or else its one's perspective to believe or not believe something.

To conclude, it is not right to just mistrust and piece of information that is referred to as fact. If one has any reservations towards a fact, they can try to evaluate than bluntly mistrust it.