In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Art has always added value to any culture and works as an efficient way to convey meaningful messages to the people. Works of art, and artists have always been praised and venerated. These works have been documented and preserved for decades or sometimes even centuries. The author asserts that for any art to have merit, it must be understandable to most people and I disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

To begin with, the merit of any work is not based on easy comprehension but the quality of the work. For example, many portraits of Leonardo Da Vinci, one of the great artists of his time were not understood by most people. His prominent artwork, the drawing of 'Mona Lisa', has always intrigued critics and they have been trying to associate a deeper meaning with it until today. However, it is one of the finest arts in the history of humans and is priceless.

Secondly, an art is a way to share messages. It is the message that carries value and differentiates it from other pieces of art, that might be understandable to most people but is destitute of significance. In the past decades, the film industry has grown exponentially and the movies produced are usually for commercial purposes and hence the primary motive is to reach the maximum people, not to share knowledge or insights. However, there are a few exceptions. For example, a recent film, 'Joker',

portrayed a person devolving into depression and resorting to violence against people who just didn't care enough. The meaning of this movie eludes most people but it got nominated for various awards, including the most prestigious Academy Award. This was possible only because of it's value.

In conclusion, an art work to be successful, it need not be understandable to most people but it needs to establish a different or a meaningful take upon the workings of this world. One might argue that it is important for any work of art to impact the lives of many people. But no, not every person can relate to everything. There are a few instances where only certain people will appreciate and connect to.