Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

With the current technological advances and the growing population of the world, there has been a dramatic increase in both current issues as well as future issues. It is important for the government to focus on solving the immediate problems as they are currently affecting lives of millions of people but they should not avert their focus from anticipated future problems. And so, i strongly disagree with the recommendation and would like to support my stance with the following reasons.

First of all, every government has a scheme or a plan for the upcoming five years or ten years and they have been elected based on these plans. These plans outline how they will solve the current issues in the society as well as work towards the development of the nation. If they just focus on solving the immediate issues, there might not be a positive economical growth of a country. Thus, its not recommended to turn a blind eye towards anticipated problems as they might aid in the development and growth of the country.

Secondly, the resources that are currently being used and depleted may not present an issue immediately, but over time, the resources might become sparse. The government has to focus on this and try to come up with solutions to use the resources efficiently and also invest in finding alternate sources. If they do not try to solve such issues when it is at its root, it may become a cataclysm.

Finally, I would like to add that there are possibilities of unpredictable catastrophes and measures should be taken to mitigate the effect of these. Suddenly, there might be a naturally caused disaster such as flood or a tsunami or man-made disaster like wars and if proper precautions had been taken, the lives of many people can be saved from these disasters. But, if the government had focused only on solving current issues such as poverty, lack of work, etc, when a problem suddenly arises they might not have the means to solve it or reduce its effects.

To conclude, I would say that it is necessary for the governments to focus on solving the immediate problems of today but at the same time they should also focus on the predicting problems that might arise in the future as well as come up with a solution for these problems. One can argue that there might be numerous problems that might not be anticipated but that's the main reason why its important to focus on the various possibilities and as the famous saying goes 'Precaution is better than cure'.