The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A group of developers have recognized a lucrative opportunity in opening a jazz club in the city of Monroe. However, the evidence they have provided to support their claim needs to be evaluated thoroughly before the application can be approved. To back their claim, they have provided 5 evidences: distance of the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, jazz is popular in Monroe, 100,000 people attended annual festival last summer, 'Jazz Nightly' is the highest rated radio program, and that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1000 per year on jazz entertainment. But these evidences involve several unstated assumptions which need to be answered first before any decision can be made.

To begin with, the current profitability of the existing jazz club is not established. If the existing club is not making money, then this evidence should be reevaluated. And even if it does, the question of how popular it is with the people of Monroe should be answered. Is it popular enough that people will be willing to drive 65 miles even if another jazz club opens nearby? Because this club might bring in eminent jazz musicians from across the world and a new club might not be able to compete with them. Therefore, a thorough analysis of the existing club is required before one chooses to open a new club.

Secondly, it has been established that jazz is extremely popular but there is no survey to support this claim or that people would like go to jazz clubs regularly. If they are not interested in going to jazz clubs regularly, then the jazz club wont be as profitable as is believed. Moreover, the annual jazz festival happens only once a year and the people attended it might be there for more than jazz music as it is a festival. And even people who went there for the jazz music, might only attend the festival once a year and never visit any jazz clubs. So, a survey on people interested in going to jazz clubs would help validate this claim.

Finally, the highest rated radio program also does not imply that people will go to jazz clubs. Going to a club is a tiring and expensive affair. People might prefer to sit leisurely at the comfort of their home and listen to the music. As it's a weeknight program, it would be refreshing for them after coming home from work. Hence, this evidence also does not provide enough to support that a new jazz club is a good idea.

To conclude, the above questions and doubts needs to be reassured and backed up with proper research and support before arriving to the conclusion that opening a new jazz club is a lucrative opportunity. And only with the proper validation,

the application for the loan should be considered.