The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The authorities in Masontown want to save money on garbage disposal fees and for that they plan on implementing an advertising campaign to encourage the residents to recycle, thus saving money on disposal of its waste. To support this argument, a comparison with a neighbouring town Hayesworth is done, who have passed a law requiring all households to recycle or pay a fine, and they have seen the disposal costs significantly decrease. This claim seems to be strong on first glance, however, there are several unstated assumptions that need to be examined before arriving at the conclusion.

The author compares Masontown to the neighbouring town Hayesworth, but fails to provide evidence that these two towns are actually comparable. Are the population of both these towns same? Is the amount of garbage of Masontown similar to Hayesworth? It might have been easier in Hayesworth to implement because they might have a lower population and the amount of garbage is therefore lesser. By recycling only paper and glass, they could have brought down the disposal cost. But that might not be the case in Masontown. If so, it weakens the argument significantly. Also, Hayestown residents are expected to pay a fine if they do not recycle. However, we do not know if the people of Masontown can afford to pay such a fine.

Moreover, to encourage the residents to recycle, the town has to implement an advertising campaign which requires money to be spent. Say they spend Rs.200000 to spread awareness among people and end up saving Rs.10000/year, then it would take 20 years to recover the initial investment. The cost for the campaign and the possible savings need to be established in order to evaluate the argument.

Even if the above assumptions are accounted for, say both the towns are comparable and it is profitable to implement an advertising campaign, it is given that the residents of Hayesworth recycled only paper and glass. It is not possible to recycle everything in an household and the people of Masontown might already be in the habit of recycling paper and glass. If so, to spread an awareness about recycling might be futile.

To conclude, it is a good initiative to try to save money on garbage disposal fees. However, the author fails to provide a cogent argument that by recycling it can achieved. The above questions need to be answered and more evidence is required to strengthen the argument, before reaching the conclusion that an advertising campaign encouraging residents to recycle needs to be implemented.