The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History is a common subject as part of a school's curriculum all over the world. Why do people study history? Some people argue that history is not required to be taught as one should always look towards the future. On the other hand, there are arguments that history is a crucial subject to be taught especially to young minds. So why is the study of history important or beneficial? Because it helps people understand the mistakes made in the past and to not repeat it again. As the famous saying goes "Learn from your past mistakes". And so I personally feel that is the main benefit of the study of history and not to dispel the illusion that the present people are different from older times. Of course, that is one of the

benefits but is not the significant one.

History provides people with information about the past developments of the country, wars waged including those lost and won, etc. The Indian history mainly includes the fight for freedom against the British and it helps understand the difficulties people faced at that period and how it was important to not lose determination. The freedom fight is a piece of inspiration for all the Indians even now and leaders such as Gandhi are celebrated until today worldwide. This is what the study of history is supposed to afford, a source of inspiration.

Moreover, great wars such as World War 1 and 2 provides information about the deaths of thousands of people. It involves the political mistakes done by self-centered leaders across the world which lead to huge destruction. This serves as a learning opportunity for people about the effects of war, and the wrongdoings and selfishness that resulted in these cataclysms. People are more aware now and question the authority to prevent useless wars from being fought. The history makes this awareness possible and deters people from making the same mistake again.

In addition, the culture of a country is portrayed beautifully in its history. Monuments, museums and artifacts are preserved meticulously for visitors from around the world to understand the cultural aspects of a nation. It is vital that people never forget where they come from and what they stand for. To perpetuate this, every citizen is supposed to know the history of their nation and what better way than to teach students while they are in school.

To conclude, the study of history contributes to a number of advantages and as reasoned above, these benefits prove more significant than just to differentiate people from different times.