Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that the decline in deer populations is the result of deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. To support the argument, the author has presented one primary evidence that the reports about the deer populations coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt. Without ice, the deer cannot move from island to island in search of food. Although the argument seems plausible, it has several unwarranted assumptions that affect its merit.

First of all, the report about the decline in population is from local hunters. Are they a credible and reliable source? Did they perform a thorough investigation before concluding the study? If not, the whole argument is futile. The author must verify the authenticity of the report before starting to provide evidence to support the argument.

Also, it is established that there are hunters in the vicinity which implies that the Arctic deers were hunted probably. It is highly likely that the hunting might have contributed towards the decrease. Since it is an Arctic region, the availability of food might be sparse, because of the hostile environment for crops. And so the people might have hunted the deers for food. This would weaken the argument if it is true.

Moreover, the deers moved from place to place in search of food, and the author claims that global warming might have hindered this movement. However, the deer need not move if there was plenty of food in a particular region. Maybe the sparsity of food for deers might have been due to encroachments by people. It would implicate that it was the people who were the foremost reason for population decline and not global warming.

The Arctic deers must have existed for a long time and should have gone through multiple environmental changes but did it affect their population? Answering this question might help evaluate the argument. If the deers did not face an endangerment before, I think it is not fair to conclude that the 'melting of the sea ice' is the reason for the decrease without a compelling justification. The pieces of evidence presented by the author needs to be validated by researching more into the place and not just by correlating two reports.