The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory

and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased.

Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

unwarranted.

The president of the Humana University has asserted that to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, they should promote online degree programs. To support the assertion, the president takes the nearby Omni university as example and shows how the enrollment has increased by 50% and also there is a significant decrease in expenditures. This seems like a coherent and cogent argument on first glance, but there are a lot of assumptions that need to be evaluated in order to validate the claim.

First of all, the author assumes that the reason for lack of growth in enrollment at Humana university is because there are no online degree programs. However, there can be several other reasons for the stagnation. It can be because the fee structure at Humana university is higher compared to others and so students might not prefer it, or there might be a recent incident that damaged the reputation of the university such as a lab accident. If so, the university has to consider reducing the fees or the university authorites have to take measures to rebuild the reputation by acquiring safety certificates from respective departments. The president has to investigate more into this regard before directly assuming that online degree program will help with increase in enrollment.

The author claims that the enrollment at Omni University has increased by 50% for their online programs but fails to establish absolute numbers. The number of students enrolled might have been very less before, maybe only 20 students and addition of more 10 students will not contribute to much profits as the expenditures in running a university is massive. Without the exact numbers, this arguments does not hold merit. Besides, the enrollment in online programs have increased, but what about offline programs? The decrease in the number of students participating in offline programs might have lead to the decrease in the expenditures at Omni University.

Moreover, there is no evidence to prove that students prefer online classes over offline classes. Conventionally, offline classes help students in understanding the course work clearly and also to clarify their doubts. Majority of students might not even prefer online classes and so a survey might help understand the preference of students and strengthen the argument.

It is understandable that the president is trying to improve the current state of the University but to take a decision based on invalid ssumptions might backfire. Further evidence and proofs are required before reaching the conclusion that promoting online degree programs will lead to increase in the enrollment.