The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented memorandum claims that an increased attention given to national news has caused a decline in viewers and revenues for the television station. The business manager thinks that restoring the past amount of time dedicated to weather and local news will be able to fix the present condition. However, the memorandum fails to address some needed evidence in order to support the reached conclusion.

Firstly, it is not stated which type of television station this is. Is it a local or a national network? Although not specifically evidence, this would be a first piece of information which would allow to carry out a more accurate evaluation of the situation. In fact, many of the pointed out problems could be linked to the local vocation of the TV station, but we are not able to state this because information is missing.

Speaking about evidence, there is a complete lack of an account of the viewers' opinions. In fact, no survey or data analysis seems to have been conducted, hampering the possibility to prove the memorandum warranted. The only point in this sense is the one addressing "complaints", but these complaints are not detailed or further specified. How many are they with respect to the total number of viewers? This is a relevant question, because if the complaints come from the vast majority of the audience, the memorandum could be proved as right in its conclusion, while if the complaints are isolated or representing just few spectators, there would be no point in changing the TV programs. Additionally, complaints are not described in detail: are they asking to completely change the programs or are they just asking to include some local and weather related news? This could help evaluate to which extent a complete upheaval in the late-night time slot is necessary and to which extent few and precise changes could be made in order to please the complaining viewers.

Furthermore, there is an analogous lack of data about the sudden decline in advertising contracts signed by local businesses. Do they have declared that they are no more renewing their contracts due to a scarce attention to local news? Knowing this would be vital to avoid a misinterpretation of given information. In fact, there could be many other factors affecting a decrease in advertisement-based revenues. For instance, local businesses could be struggling with taxes and cannot afford to pay for TV adverts or TV contracts could have lost their appeal if compared to the cheaper and more capillary opportunities offered by social media in terms of advertising. On the other hand, if there would be consistent evidence of an abandonment of TV advertising caused by a misplacement of programs, then the business manager's conclusion would be supported.

To sum up, the business manager's memorandum offers some potential good points in order to restore a flourishing TV business, but it lacks evidence to be defined as substantiated. A more thorough analysis of the audience, its habits and the local business condition should be provided in order to decide whether the presented conclusion could be advantageous or not.