The birthrate in our city is declining in fact last year s birthrate was only one half that of five years ago Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for educat

In the recommendation drafted by the committee, they are planning to cut the fundings for education and athletic facilities and pour it on to city facilities primarily used by adults. Here the committee is assuming many things before jumping to the conclusion. They are comparing the current birthrate with the 5-year-old trend, they also think that cutting the funds allocated for education programs will help them to fund other facilities, etc.

Birthrate depends on many factors such as the income of the family, issues in family planning or it could be from polygamy, etc. But this birthrate will always keep varying every year because of many factors. Here the committee is comparing the birthrate of a 5-year-old trend with the current one, and it found out to be way less than its predecessor. It could be because of the choice of the parents not to have a child because of their current financial situation or they don't want their children to study in public school as it has fewer facilities when compared to private schools. If the committee is unable to provide such details, then this decision doesn't hold any water.

Moreover, the committee is planning to reduce the funds allocated for education in the coming decade and also planning to do the same for athletic and recreational facilities. We should know that a child who is growing needs to study, playing sports, etc, as it develops all the necessary skills required for the future. This can only be improved by allocating a significant budget in this area. If the funding is reduced, it further deteriorates the quality of the respective fields and may further hinder the thinking of future youths who are on the verge of becoming adults. Again if they don't give adequate proof of why they are doing this, then this decision doesn't hold any value.

In conclusion, before implementing a certain rule, they should always think about the big picture of the situation.