The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony s inception ten years ago Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor who has been able to attract high profile guest musicians to perfo

In the memo, the committee from Grandview Symphony has appointed a well-known city conductor with the assumption that he will be beneficial for attracting high-profile guest musicians to perform for their concert and hoping they can achieve profitable revenue by increasing their ticket price. However, the author is making numerous unwarranted assumptions before concluding.

Firstly, the Grandview Symphony was funded by the government from a city a decade ago, this tells us that the institution was new to the industry and was developing. The author is not giving information about how it performed in the past. If it was popular, there was no need to appoint the conductor, if it was not popular, then there could be a scenario where the majority of the audience from the city was not interested in music. Thus, if the author is not giving more information regarding that, this argument does not hold any water.

Moreover, the argument says that Grandview Symphony has appointed a well-known conductor to attract high profile musicians to perform for their program. This increased the number of audience attending their concert. The author is not telling us about the situation of low profile musicians. We should know whether the concert is appointing both high- and low-profile musicians. If the concert is firing the low-profile musicians just to make some space for high profile musicians, then the concert is harming the talent of new upcoming musicians. Again the author is not considering these facts.

Lastly, the Grandview Symphony is planning to increase its ticket price just because there was an increase in the number of the audience attending their concert. They are not telling us whether this trend will stay constant or not. And there could be a possibility where a certain group of audience is not willing to pay such exorbitant amount of money for attending the concert. This would further weaken their claim. And also they are planning to rely on their increased unreliable revenue without considering constant funding from the government. Without in-depth analysis, their claim is seriously flawed.

In conclusion, as of now the argument is considerably flawed because of unwarranted assumptions by the author. If the author can give more explanation on this, only then it can be considered.