As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Living in a globalized and highly technological world as the present one is something which should be taken seriously in its implications on our everyday life. Today we can find answers to virtually any question online - a cooking recipe, a major illness problem, a math problem or the next Image Dragons album - by simply "googling" it. We are constantly connected, and distances in terms of space and time seem to have been overcome, making reaching the other part of the world a matter of seconds. Technology seems to offer us unlimited possibilities, but what it cannot give us - for now, at least - is the ability of an automatic critical thinking.

Personally, I do not completely agree with the presented claim, even though it holds some truth. In fact, it is undeniable that nowadays we tend to rely more and more on technology in the attempt to find a quick and clear solution to our problems. Today more and more youngsters believe that internet holds all the answers and that they are always easy to reach. Unfortunately, we often see emarginated or introvert people creating some sort of online parallel life, trying to heal their social inadequacy and believing to have found a simple, rewarding solution. Or again, more trivially, how many times did we surf the Internet to answer silly questions, to be updated about global news or to find a faster way to do something? However, the point is that the Internet can only provide us with notions, with practical and concrete knowledge at the moment, or with an illusion of interpersonal and social interaction. If we are struggling with a personal problem, we can find advice at best on the Internet, but it will never be able to tell us how to behave in that peculiar and personal situation. In other words, technology cannot replace our emotional intelligence, it can only facilitate us in some tasks and in the search of information.

Despite all of this, we should not be completely diffident towards technology. If we manage to use it properly, it could be very useful and truly help facilitating our lives. In fact, it basically frees us from minor worries which characterized the past, letting us - theoretically - dedicating more time and effort to care about our inner selves and other people. There are abstract and theoretical issues or tasks which require the complexity of the human thinking and cannot be solved or performed by machines, as futuristic and technological as they may be. They can surely help us, but they are not able to replace our ability to handle a problem in its whole complexity: for example, when it comes to treat a patient, a doctor could be advantaged by using highly technological machines to detect illnesses or to carry out analysis, but ultimately the choice of how to treat the ill will be the result of the consideration of several variables that technology is still not able to evaluate and connect. The ability to make connections and practicing parallel thinking is one that is still a prerogative of human brain and we should value it as it is.

In conclusion, I do not think our ability to think for ourselves will deteriorate: we should just be able to adequate a new way of thinking to the instruments made disposable by technology. A truly wise way to use technology is to make it a perk, an advantage for us and not something that substitutes us, especially when it comes to sensitive and emotional thinking. Moreover, adults and institutions should have a resposibility in preventing young generations to rely too much on technology, teaching them the value of critical thinking and educating them to practice it. This is the key to check the argued deterioration: we cannot simply let things go, but we should make efforts to direct them to the right way.