Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible. Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

“Corporation” is the modern term used to identify contemporary conglomerates which operate within our globalized world on several fronts, such as new technologies, industry and services. With the advent of the free market, this kind of business has developed, marking a new stage of worldwide capitalism. Corporations are no more a peculiar phenomenon of the Western world, but they rose also in new emergent markets, such as the Eastern ones of China, India and in general South-East Asia. Given the crucial role they play in our economies, which should be the proper responsibilities of these corporations?

We cannot think of corporations only as money-makers and gold mines where top managers increase their personal wealth with ten-figures salaries. Corporations have been called to action also on a social and environmental plan and I think fulfilling certain requirements in this sense is their duty. According to this point of view, making as more money as possible cannot be considered a “responsibility”: what kind of moral partaking would this require? What impact could it have on the society and the environment? The raft of money corporations move, earn and exchange every day should generate also a socially and environmentally virtuous circle to enhance the potential of nowadays society, rebalancing inequities and giving new chances to younger or disadvantaged generations.

Particularly, an increasingly cogent issue nowadays is the climate change affecting our planet and bringing it towards its annihilation. This should be a great opportunity for corporations to intervene and guarantee a new direction for planet Earth. Thanks to a new awareness, fueled by the “Fridays for future” strikes, some corporations are taking a position about the matter. Several of them undertook research projects to reduce CO2 emissions, others got involved and sponsored massive operations of ocean cleaning. Generally, sensitizing campaigns are promoted all around the Western world to reduce plastic usage and consume and some fast foods, such as McDonald’s, banned plastic straws from their restaurants. These first, simple actions represent a positive example of what should concern corporations nowadays.

One of the perks of this kind of commitment is represented by the more favorable consensus corporations would gain. They could also become active interlocutors with governments, helping them strengthening their policies by providing resources and financial support. People would be reassured about the safety and care of their activities and therefore these corporations would probably grow their business even more. On the contrary, if the public perceives only a greedy ambition towards money and wealth, it will be discouraged and will disapprove the corporation’s way of doing business.

In conclusion, our world is becoming more and more worried about our environmental and social future. Betraying this concern or showing carelessness towards it would not be a rewarding strategy for a corporation. Moreover, operating in socially and environmentally endangered situations trying to heal them would give the corporation’s business a sense which overcomes the merely economical one, making the corporation not only a money-related organism, but also an important political and civil point of reference.