Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The two different opinions both have their reasons, but I think I better fit with the idea that corporations should be interested in preserving the environment and society.

First of all, this operation may make people more conscious of many problems that we live as mankind. For example, if a corporation stands against any form of racism and bullying, the geneal consumer will start to think how actually his actions can be detrimental for the people he encounters every day, even if he wouldn’t describe himself as a racist or a bully. This would greatly improve the society in which we live.

Speaking of improvement, we must be concerned about the environmental crisis that we’re facing in this era. The industries keep increasing their productions without thinking that our planet isn’t able to sustain them, and their inquination. If companies start to show how important is to preserve our world, people may decide to change their behaviour, thus changing even the market and avoiding a cataclysm. For example if everybody decides to prefer to buy bio products rather than the more difficult to destroy ones, we could lessen the amount of trash that we can’t get rid of.

Actually some companies could even see their incomes increase. If the public is convinced to spend their money on more echologic items, then the companies that invest so much on publicing that will eventually make much more money, squelching the concorrence. For example in the last few years, there has been a scandal regarding the palm oil. In fact, cultivating it was very noxious for the Earth, and many companies decided to go against the use of such oil, and in their ads they would underscore that they don’t have any palm oil in their products. The consumers (some even thought that such oil was dangerous for their own health) started to prefer those products and the cited companies got insanely richer from this marketing expedience.

Of course, there are some reasons for thinking that a company should think more on making money. First of all such companies help making the economy more active. This means that products and capitals aren’t stactionary but move along the globe. Such activity permits people to enrich and lowers the percentage of powerty, and almost everyone gets richer: someone more, someone less.

Another consideration is that if a company has more money, it could invest that money in innovative means of production. In the last decades there has been an increasing interest towards renewable energy, but many companies simply cannot afford them, since they haven’t been much developed before and therefore are still quite expensive. For example the solar panels are very good and advanced, and permit the owners to get energy almost for free once installed. The problem is that their initial cost is very high and it’s difficult for many societies to invest in them. But if a company enriches itself, then it could afford them and if these kinds of products began to be used largely we could diminish the global pollution.

In the end it has been seen that there are indeed some reasons to think that it’s good for companies to focus on making money, but there are even more important reasons to make sure that there’s good publicity and interest toward the social and environmental improvements.