The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I only partially agree with the statement, in fact there are many factors involving a good teaching, and there are so disparate possibilities that it is impossible that one way to teach is always the best.

First of all, someone may do a negative action because he just wants to be considered as a part of the whole, and he thinks that the best way to achieve this is by distinguish himself. Ignoring him will only make him suffer and cause depression, making him feel like an outcast. It would probably be better to talk with him and understand that he just needs to know that he is accepted among the group, even if he doesn’t do anything stupid or bad.

Moreover ignoring an indecent behavior makes it impossible for the kid to understand his mistake, thus not allowing him to get better, which is actually the real aim of teaching. Many times children do things without thinking about the consequencies, and this leads them to a wrongdoing, which has to be punished in order to make them remember of their actions and increasing the chances that they won’t do them again.

It should also be mentioned that praising too much a child may make him overestimate himself. If this happens, he may decide to study a bit less or just think that he has done way more than enough and that he deserves a break. It is a teacher duty to make sure that everyone in the class is interested in doing his best during all the school period, so such a problem must be considered very carefully.

Of course there are cases in which such a teaching is acceptable. For example if the children is quite shy, or is having some low self-esteem, making sure that he gets praises when he does a good thing will end up making him a bit more proud. Another example is a kid who likes to go against the rules just to make himself noticeable, so making sure that nobody cares about his actions will make him feel that all those efforts are futile and will eventually stop being a troublemaker.

There’s a final flaw in the statement: sometimes children may do very dangerous actions, that harm other children or may make their lives terrible (such as bullying someone because is fat or poor). In this cases is unaccettable that these guys get unpunished, because they go way over the limit, so ignoring them will only make people even worst. It is not a secret that during highschool many students decide to suicide because they hate their life, and this is usually because of other students that keep on teasing them without even thinking that they’re ruining someone else’s experience in school.

So in the end I really think that it’s impossible to say that a way to teach is the best in all scenarios. There are too many cases in which praising to much or ignoring a misbehavior leads to terrible consequencies.