An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that Tagus's government should tout a modified millet with higher concentration of vitamin A, since the citizens seem to need more of it, but the conclusion is reached through a series of unbased assumptions.

First of all, it is stated that the new kind of millet is rich in vitamin A, but it is possible that such a modification is nocive for the human body. If this comes to be true, then it would be far better to leave things as they are, in order to avoid other diseases, and try to find another way for increasing vitamin A in Tagus people. In order to convince the readers, the writer should make clear that this new product is completely benign.

A second problem is that it is stated that to make sure farmers will prefer this new type of millet, they will receive subsidies, but they may not be enough to convince them in changing their cultivations. In fact, changing the structure of a farm is very expensive and not all farmers may want to take the risk of entering in a new market, even if the governents helps them economically. So the question that needs to be answered is: is it unquestionable that the subsidies paid to farmers will be enough for being sure that they will start cultivating this new millet?

It is then assumed that since millet is already eaten largely in Tagus, then the new food will have a great success, too. But it is possible that the operations needed to increase the percentage of vitamin A change the product, making it less appetitable than before, thus lowering the chances of being liked as its predecessor.

If the author assumes that the consumption will not chance, then it has to make sure that the product will still taste the same.

The last assertion is the conclusion itself: the author says that in order to avoid this deficiency of vitamin A, the government should adopt this solution, but there may be other ways to circumvent the problem, and they should all be taken into account. To make sure that everyone agrees with him, the writer should analyze other possible solutions and explain why this would be the best one.

In the end, it is possible that the recommendation is right, but before judging it there are some details that need to be added: the product must be certified as innocous, it should be clarified that the farmers are willingful to help with the project, we need to know wether or not the product has changed in other aspects, like appearance, smell and taste, and finally all the other possible solutions must be discussed before deciding that this is the best alternative.