Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I think corporations have a responsibility to not only follow the law but also work with the societies and enviroments they are in. Our societies and environments in this age are affected by corporations’ operations. An example of this is BP’s accident in the Gulf of Mexico — they might have been following the law and regulations, but once an accident happens, our societies and environments are affected. Many fishermen and businesses around the area have been affected by the accident. Now BP faces so many liabilities and needs to pay money. As a result, they are loosing more than they made in the past. It is also important that corporations makes as much as money possible. If they do well, there might be more employment opportunities for people and more taxes for the city, states and federal which help our country’s economy better. However, there are always choices that corporations can take and they can make money by promoting the well-being of the societies and environments. It might cost them more but it will also help to save thier expenses.