The following appeared in an article written by Dr.Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr.Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other islande cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s, Dr.Karp, main point is to criticize the previous research of Dr. Field on how children are raised in the island of Tertia and to impone that his way of making a research is going to have very good results. However he makes many assumptions that make his argument flawing at best.

First of all he denigrates Field’s observation because his results are different from the one recently made by Dr. Karp, but there’s no evidence that his research, made by interviews, is going to give us the best results. In fact many children may lie or have a distorted perception of what is happening in their education. They may feel like they’re spending much more time with their parents, but maybe in reality they spend way more with the rest of the community. To make his statement stronger he should assure that the facts correspond to the results of the interviews.

Moreover, even if this results are correct, there’s no way we can tell that Dr. Field was wrong, since his studies were made 20 years ago, and in such a long time there may have been a great change in this period, and while during the precedent research children were reared by the village, now they stay more with their parents. Dr. Karp should show us that in this period nothing has changed in the way Teartian people educate their children, if he wants to lambaste Field’s studies.

Even if Field was wrong, it’s not correct to say that the method he used (observation-centered) is always worse than Karp’s one. In fact Field may have done other mistakes indipendent from the methon for which he opted. If the author wants to assert that the observation-centered method draws to incorrect conclusion, he should at least give us way more examples in which such a method has failed.

The last assumption is that his interview-centered method is going to give much more accurated details of traditions and education even in other islands. This is not necessarily true: let’s assume that his results are indeed correct (which still has to be demonstrated), this doesn’t mean that getting information from other islands will have such a good ending with the same method. Maybe in the other islands they are diffident toward interviewers and won’t answer properly. Before making such assumption the anthropologist must be sure that the method will still work in the other islands.

In the end, Karp has made a statement full of assumptions without really making the effort in trying convincing the readers with fact. If he wants to make people believe him he has to: make the results of the interviews undiscutible, show us that there has been no major changes in Tertia’s method of education, give some more examples in which observation-centered studies couldn’t get proper informations, and tell us why he is so sure that if his method actually works in Tertia, it will work on the other islands, too.