'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager states that increasing the time devolved to weather and local news will help the company, avoiding the loss of contracts and making more views, but there are some flaws and unbased assumptions that make impossible to accept the statement as it is.

First of all the author states that the time devoted to national news has increased and the time devoted to weather and local news has decreased in the last year. This may be true, but the problem is that it doesn't give us information of how much things have changed. It could be possible that a slot of 30 minutes of weather has been changed to national news, but such a modification of the schedule would be ridiculous and lead to no significative consequences. The first thing we need before we would agree with the manager is know exactly how much things have changed, in order to understand if this changes may be significative.

Moreover, we don't know the reasons behind this modification. Maybe the problem is that there are fewer local news, if that's the case it is not wrong to devote less time to less novities. So we will also need to know wether or not here has been a diminishing of these news.

Then the author says that most of the complaints regard the coverage of weather and local news. Of course this could be caused by the lessened time devoted to them, but it could also be because of the quality of such programs. Maybe the news selected are not interesting, or they fail to make people understand what actually is going to happen. Or maybe they don't involve some areas within the local news because they think they are out of range. There are many possibilities, so the author must tell us what are the exactly complaints that the program receives.

He also gives us an example of an advertising contract with a local business that has recently been canceled. The assumption is that the reason that led the end of this contract is the time devoted to local news, but there may be other reasons: maybe the business is losing money because there is too much cuncurrence and has decided to cut down all the expenses. The manager has to tell us why the contract has been canceled.

Even if we accept all the assumptions and take them for granted, there's still another problem: the author states that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will solve everything, but how is he so sure about this? Restoring the initial schedule doesn't ensure anything, the viewers may not be so interested in local news and the other business that have an advertising contract may prefer if the program keeps giving more time to national news. The last thing the author has to give us is the reason that lead him to think that this operation will solve the problem.

In the end, it is not impossible for the manager to be right, but to convince everyone he first has to give some more informations: the significance of the changes, the reasons behind those changes, what are the complaints about, why did the local business canceled the contract and why he is so sure that restoring the previous schedule will solve the problem.