"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Being able to cooperate is in many cases an important skill, that can lead to better results in a shorter period of time, so it is important that children understand how this ability is more important than being permanently under pressure in order to be the best. Moreover when children are used to get help from others, it is more likely that they won't be dispotic and will share their knowledge to the others, so it is unquestionable that government should make sure that the next generations will try to cooperate.

The first reason for this is that, when working in a group, the project is going to be developed faster and better. In fact team leaders usually give to members the right task for each of them, knowing who is the most suited for it and thus will do it in less time and without making mistakes. An example can be seen in industries, where the managers control a few employers and divide the job in order to accomplish it more efficently.

Someone may argue that this may cause chidlren not to work hard enough in order to be the first of their class, or to make sure that they will be above everyone else, but that's not necessarily true. Of course some lazy guys will follow this route, I even had a few friends in my class that newer showed up when we had to make a team project for the science teacher, but a group of researchers from Oxford discovered that working in a team actually enhances the productivity of the members in almost 75% of the cases. They think that this may be caused by a sense of duty in respect of the efforts made by their peers.

Another reason for wanting government to encourage young people to develop a sense of cooperation rather than competition is the fact that the former will lower the chances of people to grow up as despots. Let's take as an example the history of Rome. Before the advent of the Empire, Rome was a republic, in which everyone could do his best to make the city flourish, and they usually tried to cooperate in order to achieve a common objective. But after the first Empereors, the most prominent people wanted to get more and more power to satisfy their ambiciousness, and became the Empereor, and this competition make them less interested in other opinions, often leading to poor decision, since noone deign the others of attention and followed their own interest.

But the most important fact is that in a world where children understand the importance of cooperating, ideas, opinions and discoveries will travel around the world and permit everyone to contribute to a common goal: the advancement of mankind. Let's just see how fast technology develops now that globalization enables everyone to share their knowledge. In the eighteenth century it was impossible to think that a man could land on the Moon, but in 1969, after years of work from scientists all around the world made it possible. It wasn't a success just for the USA, but also for all their countries who gave their help, like England, Canada, France, Italy and many others.

To sum up, it is clear that the negative effects that instilling a willingness to cooperate in the younger ones are almost negligible, meanwhile such a decision will surely lead to incredible results, from which almost everyone will get some advantages, so it's impossible for me not to agree with the statement.